You won my heart, WV

World Vision was built to protect and support millions of undefended children around the world. This Christian humanitarian organization continues to advance its legacy of sustaining and embracing the most vulnerable children, family, and communities, leading them away from the hefty fight of poverty and injustices. In 1957, the organization finally started its journey in the country wherein they began with 300 children–and six decades after, it now supports 1.5 million children.

To be part of an organization that dedicates its time and passion for the underprivileged was a blessing and an honor for me. Even for my short stay, I was able to grasp the beautiful things and even the horrible ones a child can experience. An overview of these opened me with new perspectives and goals in life, of which I hope I can achieve in the future, for these adorable, young people.

16831878_1700500699963737_2969622588302651470_n

As an intern of World Vision in the Media and Communication department, I was tasked to write press releases and stories about its former sponsored children, and to cover/photograph its relief operation and Child-Friendly Space program–which I loved the most.

Covering their emergency responses, even just by standing beside the young survivors of Malabon fire, I found myself flooded with thoughts and prayers for them. How could these children be seen tough on the outside, yet so vulnerable inside? How could they smile despite all these uncertainties?

16681602_1699702176710256_3250666357899819412_n

GKQJ7755

But, I asked myself: How can I help these children to move on from these experiences? What should I do to give them hope?

Then, this realization confronted me: Maybe, I am here not just to write stories and get them published in my portfolio. Maybe, I am here not for the glamorous side of Journalism, of writing, but I am here for a purpose. My stay in a humanitarian organization made me realize that I have to tell the stories of these kids who became victims of poverty, of corruption, and of misfortunes.

I pray that the light would somehow find these young hearts to erase their sadness and to let them dream again.

Read their stories: wvph.co/2kT24xcwvph.co/2lbCeAAwvph.co/2kwMKGj

Leave a Reply

